Missouri State Bears to battle Wichita State on Thursday

Evan Pflugradt

A five-day gap in the Missouri Valley schedule was supposed to provide the Shockers with a brief rest before closing out a five-game stretch in the final 11 days of the season. The stretch was broken by a rescheduled non-conference game against New Mexico State on Monday.

Four games in twelve days, it’s the only thought in Wichita State head coach Gregg Marshall’s mind as the Shockers look for a quick turnaround searching for win No. 20 in Thursday night’s matchup with Missouri State.

A share of the Missouri Valley Conference title is at stake, WSU owns a two-game lead on second-place Illinois State with four games left to play.

Picked eighth in the preseason polls, Missouri State is tied with Indiana State for sixth in the Missouri Valley Conference with a 7-7 conference record.

Missouri State has won three of their last five games with two victories coming in overtime.

Senior Camyn Boone scored 30 points and 12 rebounds as the Bears routed Indiana State in overtime, 89-85. Boone’s 30 points and 11 made field goals were each team-highs.

Boone averages 12 points and six rebounds per game, and will be a featured matchup Missouri State will try to exploit.

The last time, Conner Frankamp hit four three-pointers in the second half to boost a dismal 2-14 three-point shooting percentage in the first half. The Shockers battled back from a 15-4 early deficit.

A one-point WSU halftime lead opened up when the Shockers scored the first nine points of the half in the midst of a 14-2 run.

The Shockers scored on a season-high 32 field goal attempts.

Fred VanVleet tallied eight assists and Ron Baker added seven of his own. Markis McDuffie led WSU scorers with a career-high 16 points on 8-9 shooting from the floor.

The key to the game for Missouri State will be defending the glass. The Shockers beat the Bears in the rebounding battle 49-29 the first time around for the largest rebound differential of the season.

Wichita State and Missouri State tip at 6 p.m in Charles Koch Arena.