McKinney named AAC Player of the Year, eight players receive regular season honors


Kristy Mace

Sydney McKinney high fives assistant coach Presley Bell after reaching on fielder’s choice.

For the second time in her softball career, senior infielder Sydney McKinney was awarded Player of the Year for the American Athletic Conference (AAC) Regular Season Awards.

McKinney is the third Shocker to earn this award and the first in conference history to win it multiple times.

Two freshmen also took home big awards. Sami Hood with Defensive Player of the Year and Alex Aguilar with Rookie of the Year. Hood is the second Shocker in softball history to have earned Defensive Player of the Year.

The Shockers scored four of five spots on the All-Conference First Team with awards going to McKinney, Zoe Jones, Addison Barnard and Lauren Lucas. They also placed four out of five on the All-Conference Second Team with awards going to Alex Aguilar, Lauren Howell, Lainee Brown and Sami Hood.

Wichita State softball was unanimously picked as the Coaching Staff of the Year. This is the second time head coach Kristi Bredbenner, associate head coach Elizabeth Economon and assistant head coach Presley Bell received this award.