The Sunflower, editor in chief win top awards at Kansas Collegiate Media conference

The Sunflower received the top overall publications honor from Kansas Collegiate Media on Monday, winning All-Kansas and a Gold Award for print publications. The Sunflower’s website earned a Silver Award.

For the third year in a row, the title of College Journalist of the Year went to a Sunflower staffer. Matthew Kelly, editor in chief, received the award and competed against college journalists from all 4-year public and private colleges. Kelly is a junior majoring in political science and minoring in communication.

The staff took home more than 40 individual awards for their work over the school year.

Complete list of awards:


Matthew Kelly, editor in chief

Kansas Collegiate Journalist of the Year

The Sunflower (print edition)

All-Kansas (Highest score among newspapers from four-year schools)

Gold Award (Score of at least 90 points out of 100)

The Sunflower (online edition)

Silver Award (Score of at least 80 points out of 100)

Special Sections, Publications or Innovations

1st— Sunflower (Day in the Life Issue)

2nd— Sunflower — (Voter’s Guide)

On-Site Copy Editing Contest

2nd— Evan Pflugradt

3rd— Daniel Caudill

HM — Matthew Kelly

Investigative Reporting

2nd— Matthew Kelly & Andrew Linnabary

3rd— Matthew Kelly

News Writing

1st— Andrew Linnabary & Matthew Kelley

2nd— Matthew Kelly

HM — Daniel Caudill

Feature Writing

2nd— Andrew Linnabary

3rd— Daniel Caudill

HM — John Darr

Editorial Writing

1st— Matthew Kelly

HM — Chance Swaim

Column Writing

1st— Audrey Korte

2nd— Ryan Crews

Sports Feature Writing

2nd— Evan Pflugradt

3rd— Evan Pflugradt

HM — Marshall Sunner

Headline Writing

2nd— Jenna Farhat

HM — Evan Pflugradt

HM — Daniel Caudill

News/Event Photo

3rd— Khanh Nguyen

HM — Easton Thompson

Feature Photo

HM — Easton Thompson

Sports Photo

1st— Joseph Barringhaus

Photo Essay (Print)

HM — Selena Favela & Joseph Barringhaus

Photo Essay/Gallery (Online)

2nd— Joseph Barringhaus

HM — Joseph Barringhaus

Illustrations & Infographics

1st— Madeline Deabler

HM — Madeline Deabler

HM — Chance Swaim & Madeline Deabler

Front Page Design

1st— Madeline Deabler

3rd— Madeline Deabler

Social Media Post

1st— Madeline Deabler

2nd— Joseph Barringhaus

3rd— Evan Pflugradt

HM — Madeline Deabler

Social Media Series

2nd— Madeline Deabler & Joseph Barringhaus