Marshall honored with Naismith, AP Coach of the Year


This week, Shocker head coach Gregg Marshall was announced as the 2014 AP Coach of the Year and Naismith Coach of the Year.

Sports Editor

After pushing the Shocker men’s basketball team to a 35-0 start, the first in NCAA history, head coach Gregg Marshall was announced as the Associated Press Coach of the Year on Thursday. On Sunday, he was announced as the Naismith Coach of the Year. He competed with coaches from the University of Michigan, University of Virginia and University of Florida.

“I’m truly honored,” Marshall said in an interview with the AP. “It’s amazing what our young guys and our program were able to accomplish this year, with the tremendous win streak and the run they took us on. I’ve been coaching for a long time, but when you have a group like this, they make it really special.”

It came as no surprise for the fans on the outside looking in but for the Atlanta Tipoff Club, Marshall’s resume and accomplishments from the last two season stuck him out against the rest of the competition.

“Coach Marshall continued the momentum from last year’s Final Four run to an amazing 2013-14 regular season, all the while managing high expectations, and that is an incredible challenge,” Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “While we had five talented coaches who were worthy of this award, our voting academy felt that Gregg’s significant accomplishments were worthy of national coach of the year honors. We are proud to welcome him into the Naismith Awards family.”

“It’s humbling to win the Naismith Award,” Marshall said. “There were so many wonderful coaches across the country who were deserving, and I proudly accept this on behalf my players, my coaching staff and Wichita State University.”

The Shockers lost to the University of Kentucky 78-76 on March 23 to end their historic season. A win would have taken the team to the Sweet Sixteen.

Marshall has also been named Coach of the Year by Missouri Valley, National Association of Basketball Coaches, United States Basketball Writers Association and CBS for his work with the program this past season.